Lockdown in Croydon

Covid-19 put an end to many of my birding trips. I have had to accept that many of the harmless activities that kept me in a good mental state are now against Government guidance. I am used to travelling by public transport (often with friends) on day trips to interesting places such as the Kent coast. However the Government told us in May that it was our ‘civic duty’ to avoid using public transport. Although I haven’t entirely obeyed the rules, long pleasure trips by train aren’t really justified.

In particular, I’ve really missed visiting my beloved Thames Estuary. When the lockdown was imposed, it was nearing the end of the winter birding season. The last wintering ducks and waders left for their northern wintering grounds.

The bird species that I miss most of all is the Black Swan. I had become very used to spending time with them in St James’s Park and Kensington Gardens. This swan, at the Round Pond, was the last one I saw:

On a positive note, I’ve been able to focus on birding in my local town of Croydon. Although the town is often associated with ugly skyscrapers, the borough has over 120 parks and open spaces. Lockdown happily coincided with the breeding season so I have been able to follow the Mute Swan family at Waddon Ponds. When I first saw the cygnets, they were tiny:

But now they’re huge:

Their first adult white feathers will soon be coming through.

I’ve spent a lot of time in Wandle Park, a small park which was completely restored a few ago. The river, which had been concreted over in the 1960s, was uncovered again.

In the early spring I was amazed to see a Whinchat here. At that time we were allowed to exercise in parks but not to stop. However on a cold late afternoon there was no-one else there to see me. I stopped for a long while to watch the attractive little bird, which was flitting between bushes and remaining easily visible. The Whinchat, a spring visitor from Africa, only stayed there a couple of days before resuming its journey north.

In most of my visits to Wandle Park, I’ve seen a Grey Wagtail or two. ‘Grey’ doesn’t do justice to this small long-tailed bird whose underside is a beautiful yellow. Sadly its UK conservation status is Red as a result of recent population declines, but the river Wandle provides a good home for the species. On the day I finished this blog, I saw eight of them along the river!

My ‘comfort walk’ which always cheers me up if I’m feeling low is along the Wandle to Carshalton where there are an increasing number of Grey Herons, some with little fear of humans. This one has no fear of the 127 bus!

Seeing these herons makes up for those I’ve missed in the central London parks. This female Mallard in Carshalton was keeping a close eye on her ducklings, quacking urgently if they drifted away:

These last few months have been challenging: my normal routines were all suddenly disrupted and I’ve missed my friends and my work colleagues. My local walks have really helped me get through this strange new way of life. Above all, I have been privileged to watch my local birds live their normal lives.

8 thoughts on “Lockdown in Croydon

  1. Ian, your blogs provide a wonderful moment of calm and sanity. Thank you

    The river Wandle, as you know, is special to those of us who live nearby and where we see the beauty of herons, ducks, swans and, off course, wagtails – I think Alec Guiness described a wagtail as a ‘Fred Astaire of bird life’. Two days ago I was privileged to see a mallard with her ducklings (which I had expected to be more grown up to be honest).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My sister linked me to this piece today. I have rediscovered a love of bird watching since lockdown and reading Bird Therapy by Joe Harkness. This blog is wonderful and I love the photos. Happy to say I have seen some grey wagtails here just last week! I am very lucky where I live to have amazing bird life on my doorstep, but a blog like yours is a great asset for me to point me in the right direction of identifying species.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your kind comments Helen. I’ve read excerpts from Bird Therapy and it’s a really interesting book. There’s a growing realisation about the positive effects that birdwatching can have on mental health. I’m really pleased you’ve seen some grey wagtails!

      Like

  3. We missed you too Ian! But it’s good to read about your positive response to All This. I’d like to see the river Wandle sometime, I’m sure you took us on a walk along it years ago, when it wasn’t there.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for writing this! I’ve had a very similar experience, my days off were days of trips to the coast and local nature reserves, but the lockdown forced me to explore my city and it has been very rewarding, although I do miss the coast so much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment